Swinburne University of Technology

Swinburne University of Technology

Swinburne University of Technology, also known as Swinburne, is an Australian public research university. It is located in Melbourne. It was established in 1908 by George Swinburne as the Eastern Suburbs Technical College to provide education for those who couldn’t afford it in Melbourne’s eastern suburbs. Its main campus can be found in Hawthorn, which is 7.5km from Melbourne’s central business district.

Swinburne is home to the main Hawthorn campus as well as campuses at Wantirna, Croydon, and campuses in Sarawak and Malaysia.

Swinburne was ranked 19th in Australia in the 2022 QS World University Rankings. It moved up 50 spots to 321st worldwide.

Swinburne was equal 1st in Victoria for the overall education experience’ of undergraduate students according to the 2020 Student Experience Survey. The overall satisfaction rate for Swinburne was 80 percent.

The Eastern Suburbs Technical College is where Swinburne University of Technology was founded. It was established in 1908 in Hawthorn, a suburb of Melbourne by George Swinburne. The institution was renamed from Hawthorn College in 1913 to Swinburne Technical College. Later, it was known as the Swinburne Institute of Technology.

The Outer Eastern University Planning Council argued for the establishment of a new university in the outer east of Melbourne in the late 1980s. This area had the lowest percentage of university participants in Melbourne, second only to the Mornington Peninsula. In response to this advocacy, Swinburne opened its “Eastern Campus” at Mooroolbark in 1990 (sometimes called Lilydale). It is located on the former site of MDA Grammar School. Students were unable to attend the campus until 1992 because of council planning negotiations. The campus officially opened on April 6, 1992. It was also known as the “Mooroolbark Campus” by 1993.

Many tertiary colleges were merged or divided up as a result of the Dawkins reforms to Australian higher educational in the 1990s. Some also received university status.

The university received the Prahran Campus of Victoria College on January 1, 1992.

Swinburne was made a university on the 1st of July 1992 by the Swinburne University of Technology Act.

Swinburne established a campus in Lilydale to replace the one at Mooroolbark in 1997. It merged with the Outer East Institute of TAFE in 1998 and began to operate from Croydon, Wantirna campuses.

Swinburne founded the National Institute of Circus Arts in 1999.

As a result of a partnership between the university’s Sarawak State Government and the university, the university opened a campus at Sarawak in Malaysia in 2000.

It formed The Centre for Social Impact in 2008 with two other universities. The university opened the Advanced Technologies Centre in February 2011. It is a 22,000-square-metre building with modern architectural design on its Hawthorn campus.

Swinburne announced the closure of its Lilydale- and Prahran campuses in response to a series funding cuts announced May 2012 by the Victorian Government. Officially, the Lilydale campus was closed on July 1, 2013. In 2014, the university sold Prahran to the Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE. In 2016, Box Hill Institute took over the Lilydale campus.

Swinburne opened its law school in 2015. Swinburne Law School, in partnership with Leo Cussen Center for Law, is the only Victoria law school to be accredited by the Victorian Legal Admissions Board. This allows students to apply for legal practice faster by completing their practical training during their final year.


If you are looking to visit Swinburne University of Technology, you can visit HBK Constructions as well because we are located close to Swinburne University of Technology. Check out below maps.

Quality Home Renovations by HBK Constructions

Contact Us

HBK Constructions – Home, Bathroom & Kitchen Renovations Melbourne

50 Fitzgerald Road,

Hallam VIC 3803

(03) 7038 3595